Categories
Uncategorized

79. The Deepest Breath

Netgalley Arc: coming out Feb 16

This was a quick read of a book. It was all done in stanza format which I liked. The main character lives with her mother and they have a close relationship. Throughout, she speaks about…well she describes in length what we know is her anxiety. At times I had to skip a little because it was very much how I feel throughout the day. While figuring out how her body works with her emotions, she wants to ask simple questions. When she realizes that the internet is no help, she walks by herself to the library. While there, the librarian helps her to realize things by finally asking questions that she is too nervous to ask her mother. This is a wonderful book on how showing what anxiety feels like, how a working single mother cares so deeply for her child, and also how a growing girl can reveal her true feelings for a friend at school.

I do feel like if I was about to read this book, I would want to know that the main character is trying to figure out her feelings about liking a girl in her class. Lately, I feel like there are many more books than years past, definitely none when I was younger, that spoke about gay relationships. Even putting aside my own opinion on the subject, as someone who writes reviews, I think that I would want to know that this element was in the book, whether or not I had feelings on said subject.

By cak381

I have a love of reading and talking about books. Even the books that I didn't like as much, I still love to talk about them. I love working at the library b/c I am always bringing home a book! I am also grateful to receive ARCs of books and to bring them to my blog and write about them.

Leave a comment