Categories
Uncategorized

28. The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner By: Khaled Hosseini

I watched the preview to the movie version and also looked it up on Good reads. There wasn’t a lot of people saying that they loved it or hated it.

It was a book that I think Book Clubs should read b/c there are so many different discussions to have about the book.

It also was a book that I didn’t want to put down and throughout the book I was amazed by what was happening. I sometimes pride myself in figuring out things, but a couple of the things that happen in the book, I did not suspect.

This is a book that really does need to be chatted about. I wanted to post question to see if anyone wants to discuss it, but it does have a lot of different elements to it. Not based on a true story, but I believe many different things that came up in the book probably happened/happens everyday.

The movie Synopsis:

Afghani immigrant Amir is summoned from his California home to Pakistan by Rahim Khan, an old, dying friend of his father. As a boy in Afghanistan, wealthy Amir was best friends with servant’s son Hassan, but when Hassan was brutally assaulted by a local bully, Amir was too scared to save him, and has been tormented by guilt ever since.

The main message on the Book:

Betrayal, which can be considered a form of sin, is enduring and ends up being cyclical in The Kite Runner. For most of the novel, Amir attempts to deal with his guilt by avoiding it. But doing this clearly does nothing toward redeeming himself, and thus his guilt endures.

In the end, the main character is able to move between Betrayal, Guilt, and Redemption

By cak381

I have a love of reading and talking about books. Even the books that I didn't like as much, I still love to talk about them. I love working at the library b/c I am always bringing home a book! I am also grateful to receive ARCs of books and to bring them to my blog and write about them.

Leave a comment