Categories
Uncategorized

95. Artichoke’s Heart by: Suzanne Supplee

Borrowed From Library

Synopis from Goodreads:

Blubber meets Steel Magnolias in this funny and honest story about body image and family.

Rosemary Goode is smart and funny, loyal, and the best eyebrow waxer in Spring Hill, Tennessee. But only one thing seems to matter to anyone, including Rosemary: her weight. And when your mom runs the most successful (and gossipy) beauty shop in town, it can be hard to keep a low profile. Rosemary resolves to lose the weight, but her journey turns out to be about everything but the scale. Her life-changing, waist-shrinking year is captured with brutal honesty and humor, topped with an extralarge helping of Southern charm. It is a truly uncommon novel about an increasingly common problem.

Recommend: Yes! This is such a good book. It tugs at your heart strings and makes you want to help your own mother, which is hurting. Rosie does drastic and nondrastic things to lose weight. You are just rooting for her. I have read many different “fat girl wants to lose weight” books, and this is now on my favorites.

By cak381

I have a love of reading and talking about books. Even the books that I didn't like as much, I still love to talk about them. I love working at the library b/c I am always bringing home a book! I am also grateful to receive ARCs of books and to bring them to my blog and write about them.

Leave a comment