Categories
Uncategorized

137. Maid by: Stephanie Land

This is a book that I know someone talked about on the YouTube channel. I need to start making a note of where I get the ideas rather after I quickly see if the local library has it. Sometimes you shouldn’t look on Goodreads to see what other people thought of the book. Let me first give the synopsis. This is a true story of Stephanie, how she had a child when she was young, was a maid in different places, recieved help from different agencies, and just tried her best to live her life. The things that people did not like about the book, it didn’t abruptly turn me away like others. Yes, she finally got some money from taxes and she spent it on things that they were never able to purchase, but also a diamond ring. Her abusive relationship with the child’s father and also another boyfriend she had, had people screaming about her staying. Mold in her main government home made her child sick, severely sick many times. Instead of looking for other places to live, she stayed knowing that the ear infections and snotty nose of her daughter was the effect of where they lived. At no time did my old DFCS ears pick up during the story. Well, as I am typing I am remembering that she did allow her daughter to stay with her father and those times she should have made her stay. I would recommend this book if you would like to hear a story about a woman just trying to do the best she can. She might get on your nerves or you might bang your head against the book bc the things that she did to survive and provide a life for her daughter isn’t something that you would do.

By cak381

I have a love of reading and talking about books. Even the books that I didn't like as much, I still love to talk about them. I love working at the library b/c I am always bringing home a book! I am also grateful to receive ARCs of books and to bring them to my blog and write about them.

Leave a comment